3 wins National Broadband tender

Status
Not open for further replies.

nevf

It was announced a few weeks ago by Eamonn Ryan, but I'm just reading about it again on Boards.ie

Just wondering what people's opinions are on this? Personally, while I work in a shop that sells mobile broadband - 3 and o2, and the shop is set to sell about 30% extra on that side of things, I personally can't complain. But what are people's opinions on this?

There's still lots of "gray" areas around Ireland, and whilst I welcome HSDPA to the extent of it's flexibility, and how fast it can be set up, I would have serious - in fact very serious reservations as to the viability and quality of HSDPA broadband as standard broadband.
Has anyone else any views on this?

n3tFl0w

I already have one of those 3 mobile broadband modems and I like it. Like it alot and find it very handy on my train commute.

Haven't checked out the above links but personally I'm looking forward to good bit wider coverage - Having to go through EDGE areas hurts a lot :)

nevf

I already have one of those 3 mobile broadband modems and I like it. Like it alot and find it very handy on my train commute.

Haven't checked out the above links but personally I'm looking forward to good bit wider coverage - Having to go through EDGE areas hurts a lot :)
Yes, but the way that they're calling HSDPA broadband as a standard broadband hurts me.

Do you ever have contention issues or any problems at all n3tfl0w? and whats the speed like? Are you happy with it or would you rather have line broadband if it was going...

n3tFl0w

Yes, but the way that they're calling HSDPA broadband as a standard broadband hurts me.

Broadband is an hilariously loose term meaning pretty much anything greater that 512k... And speeds are better than that so although its annoying to some, they'll get away with it.