Status
Not open for further replies.

Baz

Hi Guys,
I have finally designed a site I am fairly happy with. Keep in mind I am a student, I am still learning, but I do try, the site is of much higher standard (code wise) than what I have cherned out before and I just kinda want to get some rung on the ladder. I don't really want big corporate clients, I just want the website to be different and creative as well as accessible. In other words please don't be too brutal.

As Forbairt will see I have decided to leave the CMS backing aside and go back to getting basics right.

The site is Things2do Ireland - Innovative Solutions For Innovative People - New Age Digital Media Firm which has gone through a few lifes but now has a name with my few clients and I'm happy to keep the oddly named domain.

Basically I want the site to be:
1. Different, unique, a bit odd, visually captivating.

2. Valid to W3C standards, most of the site seems to be.

3. Appeal to a younger audience, aim at doing artists, bands, etc websites. (That is what interests me more).

4. Preforms well in search engines. A lot of work has to be done, the old website is still appearing, so I'll be taking that down soon.

5. Not be too professional / off putting to target market above (I like dealing with people like myself a lot and hope to attract them to it).

6. Obviously be a site which creates work for myself in some minor part-time form, I'm a bit wedged for time as it is, but always worth being too busy.

Things I know aren't the best:
1. The homepage is dodgy, very OTT and in general will be smoothed out with time, I might even do things with it over the next day or two.

2. Is pink a good colour to use given the photo contrast, any suggestions.

3. DW templating, does it work well for SEO?

Any creative critism is welcomed, as I said before I want it to be very odd and different, I'm a one man enterprise outside of my contracted work and I'd like to reflect my madness in the site :) ;) :)

Thanks,