RELLY stupid newbie question

Status
Not open for further replies.

sticker

Hi,

I'm a self taught web designer so I'm learned in some areas - lacking in others!

With the shameless apology out of the way - here goes...

I'm using tables to build a site - (I know, i know!), Within one master table I've a second split vertically into 2.

So I have a left side for text / graphics and a right side (much narrower) for a side bar graphic effect.

Trouble is when I paste the side bar image into the right column, it just sits in the middle - the master table itself is LONG, so I suppose it just centers itself verticially.

I understand I could just return (shift) the image up, but accross different browsers, it appears in different places!

I simply want to have the graphic appear at the absolute top of the right side of this table.

There must be a way!

PS - In Dreamweaver there's a reference to "Align" in the properties section - "absolute top" doesn't work!

Thanks in advance - I've been trying to figure out a way all afternoon!

gav240z

valign="top"

Worked a charm! thanks Micky!

Yeah old school :). Its useful for Email Marketing HTML.

Using tables for say your grid layout is ok (this is why the doctype transitional was inveted), I'd avoid using lots of nested tables though. It can become somewhat cumbersome to maintain.

sticker

Yeah old school :). Its useful for Email Marketing HTML.

Using tables for say your grid layout is ok (this is why the doctype transitional was inveted), I'd avoid using lots of nested tables though. It can become somewhat cumbersome to maintain.

Whats the modern alternative - like I said, I'm self taught!

I'll invest some time into learning the newer method!

Thanks

gav240z

Whats the modern alternative - like I said, I'm self taught!

I'll invest some time into learning the newer method!

Thanks