Status
Not open for further replies.

EdenWeb

I'm an eBay noob but am in the market for a new gadget and it's about 500 Euro cheaper with the 'Buy now' option than in most high street stores in the UK and Ireland.

The seller is listed as a power seller with a 98% positive review rate.

Have you bought before from eBay and would you have any advice on this type of thing?

bucks

I love eBay and bought a car off it once !!

98% feedback for a power seller is good, just check all recent feedback and for what type of products they were for, should give you a good idea of what the seller is like !

babyboy808

Yep, nothing but good things to say about ebay. I agree 98% is good, there will be some negative feedback if the seller is doing volume.

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Make sure you read the fine print and check where they are located.

I've bought thousands of euro of goods from ebay for both personal and business use over the last 7 or 8 years and most of my experiences have been positive.
To date I've only had two nasty experiences:
Beware of Scammers on Ebay!

The other issue was when I bought a game which was supposedly knew and ready to use only to discover that the vendor had already registered it and EA wouldn't reset it :(

Tom

Yep, I can only really say good things about it too. It's great for bargains. Personally though I don't think I would buy anything over €500 on it as there always is that slight risk in my mind. As Blacknight says make sure you read everything well as there are plenty of scammers about.

Forbairt

Teaching / Designing / Developing
I've not used it for anything major but have picked up a few nice bargains ...

Just make sure as the lads said about the seller ...how many sales .. reviews of his last few sales and look for the negative comments...

A friend picked up a Cannon EOS something or other with 2 gb memory / an extra lens for around 400 - 500 less than in the shops here and he had no problems ...