Status
Not open for further replies.

mr_kirbs

Hi guys,

A friend of a friend has asked me to design a website for his electrical contractors business. The website will not be too complicated - basically a site that looks good....displaying information about his business, products and services, a contact page and a couple of flash movies - probably about 15 pages in all

I'm new to all this so was wondering what would be a fair price to charge without ripping him off and without underselling myself also.

I'm happy to do this as it will be good experience for me (I'm a student) but would like to get your opinions on what I should tell him as a cost guideline?

Thanks,

Brian

paul

Ninja
Normally what works for me : Think about how long it will take, then add on another 33%-50% and then multiply it by your hourly rate.

So a 10 hour job, at €30/hour should cost between €400 - €450.

Forbairt

Teaching / Designing / Developing
You'll also want to take into account Feature Creep ...
Sure the extra little change they want is only going to take 10 minutes ...

10 minutes work .. minute to upload to the site ... another few minutes to write an email to them .. another conversation on the phone about the change ... another little fix to that .. and so on .. suddenly 10 minutes extra work has become an hour.
(Granted its not always like that)

Pauls recommendation of 33-50% extra is something I find myself not doing sometimes and it works out really not worth it in some cases. (me doing the work without the extra 33 - 50% I should say)

Do up a spec of exactly what you're going giving them
Hosting ??? .. how much will it be for them next year ?
Domain name ??? ...
Support during the year ? ... setting up email addresses for them and so on ?
Graphic design ?? (looking at your current site while its functional its not the greatest in terms of design .. sorry to be harsh .. but you are looking at selling a service so it needs to be said)
HTML / CSS coding ?