How to get back in google's good books?

Status
Not open for further replies.

babyboy808

I was ranking number 2 in google for a fairly competitive term (css layouts) a few months back and was beating some veteran sites that are up a good few years. being the complete noob that I am with seo I thought I was the big cheese and knew what I was doing to achieve such a high ranking.

It turns out I was keyword stuffing. I had the term css layouts littered through the site and thought I was doing good, wrong! google has found out and penalized me. I think I am ranking in the 900s now.

My question is how do I fix this problem. I am working on all the keywords as of now but will google forgive me :)

Redfly

Why have you nofollowed your "Reading Material" ? And those links in your footer? What have they to do with CSS layouts?

You have a LOAD of dupe content as a result of the demo text in your templates.

More content, more regular, more links, varied but relevant anchor text. Editorial if possible.

Also, you may have been subject to the google honeymoon period. Fix whatever you thought you did wrong. Then submit a reconsideration request. But if your not banned and just got a penalty, good luck.

babyboy808

Hi Dave,

Thanks for reply.

Why have you nofollowed your "Reading Material" ? And those links in your footer? What have they to do with CSS layouts?
I nofollowed as per matt cutts recommendations for external links and to keep PR.

What have they to do with CSS
The links at the very bottom? - They are just some text link ads I sold

You have a LOAD of dupe content as a result of the demo text in your templates.
- How do you mean exactly? the lorem Ipsum?

Redfly

Hi Dave,

Thanks for reply.

I nofollowed as per matt cutts recommendations for external links and to keep PR.

The links at the very bottom? - They are just some text link ads I sold

- How do you mean exactly? the lorem Ipsum?