.ie Domain Registration for science related website

Status
Not open for further replies.

rob1420

Hi all, i would like to ask how to register a .ie domain for a science related website, it is not a company or am i going to trade, i am an engineering student and would like to build a site relating to solar activity and weather related science, is it enough to explain this in my letter as it does relate to the name i have chosen, any help would be appreciated, rob

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
You could try as "personal" "discretionary" and provide a signed letter outlining your project
As it would be under "personal" you'd probably also need to provide either some form of ID or a utility bill

rob1420

You could try as "personal" "discretionary" and provide a signed letter outlining your project
As it would be under "personal" you'd probably also need to provide either some form of ID or a utility bill

Thanks for the reply blacknight, i'll try it that way, thnx, rob

rob1420

Hi blacknight any everyone else, regarding my attempts to get my .ie domain registered, i have received a reply from hosting ireland and they say they require a business name/number, i read that you can register a domain under the descretionary option. i am curently on social welfare and i would like to know if i go for the option of a business name/number, will this leave my status as self-employed as i could loose my entitlements, or should i just leave it and go for a .com domain as that seems easier, i would love to aquire a .ie domain as i am irish and i live in ireland, the site is a serious presentation of my scientific work and is relating to ireland in part, are .ie's just for business as it looks like they are holding out for those with a business name/number, any help/advice would be great, rob

Byron

Hi Rob,