Status
Not open for further replies.

Kasia

Hi Everyone,

I've just launched new online store with baby products.
It's based on osCommerce. This is my first project using this e-commerce solution. Would you let me know what you think about it?
ANY feedback is VERY welcome (positive or negative).

Thanks lads,

Kasia

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Kasia

Welcome to the site :)

The first thing I'd say is check your images. The thumbnails on the main page aren't proper thumbnails, so the site is incredibly slow to load.

Kasia

That was quick reply!
I've changed all the pictures.
To be honest I expected osCom to make thumbnails automaticly, and never noticed pictures are so "heavy". They even look better now (don't know why I didn't notice wrong size myself :eek:).
Thanks blacknight and ziycon.
Any other comments?

mneylon

Administrator
Staff member
Are there any SEO plugins for OS Commerce? The URLs you have at the moment aren't very semantic and probably won't help you with organic traffic

Kasia

I realised that last night after reading your post and searching for the solution, I just thought that would be in basic store instalation. Learnt something new ;)

RedCardinal

Out of curiosity, did you set this all up yourself? And if so, how did you find the experience? How long was the development?

It's quite cute and cuddly for the target market. I find it difficult to read 'BESTSELLERS' and 'SHOPPING CART'. I think that breaking the page up with some different background colors might also help guide visitors to the required page element (e.g. navigation, products, cart).

One small point is that you could push the header up a bit to draw more content above the fold. You have a lot of wasted real-estate up there, and you would be amazed at how lazy people are when it comes to scrolling.

You still have the thumbnail issue on some pages BabyStore.ie - Baby Bedding, Baby Clothes, Baby Accesories, Pregnancy & Support Pillows (out of stock image).